Driving under the influence of alcohol, sometimes referred to as DUI or DWI, is a punishable offense in all states. A conviction for DUI for the first time, the State can result in significant civil and criminal penalties ranging from prison to the deviation.
Depending on the state, for the first time DUI offenses can result in a year in jail. Generally, it states impose a minimum sentence of imprisonment for a first offense DUI. However, this minimum can be avoided in certain situations, especially when the defendant has no criminal record. These prison terms are often also impose fines, community service, education programs on alcohol or similar provisions. For example, for the first time in Kentucky DUI convictions they bring up to $ 500 in fines, 30 days in jail, a drug 90 days and a program of alcohol education and up to 30 days of community service.
For the first time DUI convictions often result in the suspension or revocation of license. These are not considered criminal, because usually imposed by state authority driving license and not the criminal court. The suspension of driving privileges typically ranges from at least 60 days to one year, depending on the state. For example, a first DUI conviction in Florida means a minimum of 180 days of license suspension and a maximum one-year suspension.
Similar to probation, diversion programs are offered by some countries for DUI offenders. Unlike probation, diversion programs are in lieu of official penalties imposed by the court. Diversion programs offer defendants the opportunity to have the case dropped at the end of the program.